Netflix Transitions

My husband and I love a good Netflix session. We typically have a “show,” or one that we watch until the series is over. Most of the shows we watch are comedies, and some of the actors are hilarious!

One way to know you have a great show is when you can identify with the characters. You know you are really engrossed in the series when you wonder randomly in the day, “I wonder what [insert character here] would do if he/she had this happen to her.” Not that I’ve ever had that happen to me…

Any good show is going to try to identify with its audience too. Parenthood, one of my all time favorites, was known for being so life-like with its circumstances. My husband and I got to the point where we started referring to my family as the Bravermans.

I think it is ironic that the characters go through transitions, trying to mimic what real life is like for us. My favorite is how the characters handle it. My goal today is to show you several ways our favorite actors portrayed different unhealthy responses to the unwanted or unexpected transitions in their TV lives.

 

giphy.gif

Chandler Bing (Friends)

He is your typical goofy, panicked guy. When he isn’t ready for something, he openly pushes away dealing with his problem and instead resorts to sarcasm and panic. Not always an effective strategy as it seems to never actually resolve anything.

 

giphy (1).gif

Barney Stinson (How I Met Your Mother)

Barney is the definition of avoidance. At any sign of confrontation, change, or anything he doesn’t like, Barney runs. Also not a great plan; no one can run from their problems forever.

 

giphy (2)

Lorelai Gilmore (Gilmore Girls)

When I can actually understand this woman and she doesn’t talk at the speed of light, she is quick to respond and doesn’t take the time to think about what is going on. She is a reactor when she should be a responder.

 

giphy (3).gif

Michael Scott (The Office)

He might be my least favorite way to cope with transition. He jumps to one extreme or the other, which makes for great comedy, but awful outcomes when used in real life (or The Office really)!

 

giphy (4).gif

Chris Traeger (Parks and Recreation)

Chris, although he is literally the most positive person, is characteristic of denial. His character in the beginning of the series makes his co-worker join him in order to do the “good cop/bad cop” routine because he hates the idea of confronting change. (But seriously, I love this guy.)

giphy (5).gif

Amber Holt (Parenthood)

She seriously cries or gets angry the entire time. Crying is fine. Being angry is fine. But please, please my friends, try to do more than just those two things. It’s not healthy.

All in all, please just don’t live life like you’re on a sitcom. Hope this could bring a laugh to your face (and I hope I didn’t spoil anything for you)!

TheTimeForTransition does not claim rights to these photos/gifs.

Leave a Reply

