Never Enough

I hate packing. Yes, I know hate is a strong word. I still hate packing.

Usually, I only go on trips for family vacations. My sister always makes a big list up of what she needs to bring, and I copy her list and just modify it to what I need. No matter how much I stuff into my bag, I never have everything I need. I always look back and say, “Man, it would’ve been nice if I had brought ____.”

Sometimes, I feel like that in life. I prep; I work; I try, but I just never have enough. Ugh. That drives me crazy. My aunt tells me that my immediate family hates to fail, and not being enough surely reminds me of failure. It is really a discouraging thing to try your best and not be enough.

Again, that’s the beauty of God. We aren’t expected to be enough because it isn’t possible.

Let me just spell that out for you again. We will never be enough, and that’s okay!

We were created in the depths of our being to strive for perfection, yes, but never intended to reach it ourselves. That’s where God comes in. He makes us enough Himself. 2 Corinthians 3:5 says, “Not that we are adequate in ourselves to consider anything as coming from ourselves, but our adequacy is from God.” Then He perfects us in our lack of ability and weaknesses. “And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me” (2 Corinthains 12:9). With Christ, we are able to receive strength to complete our weak selves. Paul is saying that he would much rather be weak in himself and rely on Christ to perfect him than try himself and fail. He knows only God is able to make us enough.

It is very difficult for me to rely on Christ. I try to be enough on my own instead, which only causes problems. It’s a daily prayer of mine to do what I need to do through Him. It’s when I truly trust in God and allow Him to show me my steps that I am enough. No effort or planning on my own can make me enough. So like Paul, I would much rather be relying on God than never enough by myself. Through Christ, we will always be enough.

Leave a Reply

