Actively Waiting

Waiting is one of the absolute hardest things. I completely despise the feeling of knowing what you want to do, what you want to get, or where you want to be and having to sit back on your heels and wait. I use to consider transition only a time of “action”– and waiting was doing nothing– but more recently I have learned that even waiting is a period of transition.

Why? Because waiting requires so much action. We have to force ourselves to wait. We want something; we work to get it. We pray, we push, we are proactive to get toward that goal. Especially the millennial generation. We can’t sit still and just wait. I had an English teacher who would tell my class to always make time for silence. Those times allow us to be with our thoughts and think things through without constant distraction. But there is no front porch sitting in the evening with just your thoughts anymore. We are constantly keeping ourselves entertained, possibly to keep us distracted from the pain of waiting.

I used to think of waiting as an act of not moving. That’s part of the definition too! Waiting is defined as the action of staying where one is or delaying action until a particular time or until something else happens. I, with time, have come to disagree with that idea. Waiting is not sitting around doing nothing. Waiting is deliberately choosing to be patient.

Much action can be done while waiting. John Waller parallels that thought in his song as well:

“While I’m waiting I will serve You
While I’m waiting I will worship
While I’m waiting I will not faint
I’ll be running the race even while I wait”

Waiting is known for being awful. But I think waiting can be a beautiful thing if we become patient. I love seeing people who are comfortable waiting. They know that God is blessing their patience, and the end result will be so much better than if rushing through to what they want. I could give you example after example of times when God forced me to wait (although it was not always patient), and what I ended up with was better than I could imagine.

So be encouraged in your hard times, to wait with much patience. I call it actively waiting. You will not be disappointed. “The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him” (Lamentations 3:25).

Leave a Reply

