Press On

As you very well know, this blog is about transition. Each time I try to write about a different transition in my life, with a little tid-bit of what I’m learning through it. Recently, I’ve been in a dry spell. No new changes, nothing super significant to write about. I was talking to my husband about it, and he said, “Why don’t you write about transitioning into no transitions?” Now I know why I keep him around!

Last year, around this time, I graduated college, took my NCLEX, was about to start a new job, was packing to move, was getting ready for my upcoming wedding and marriage, and probably a few more I can’t remember! I took this stress test that calculates the relative amount of stress you go through in one of my nursing classes (if you’d like to take it, click here). I ended up with a score almost near the max number you could have! I remember my new boss telling me to cut myself some slack because I made multiple major life changes within a few months. The thing was, I loved all the things to look forward to!

I am a goal-oriented person. I like to work towards something, such as graduation, a wedding, passing a big test. Once one ends, I make another goal to accomplish. If I do not do that, I get complacent. Don’t get me wrong, I love routine, but I always want something to move toward. More recently, I do not have that specific goal. I do the same thing: wake up, go to work, come home, eat dinner, and go to sleep. For a while, I told people that I was in a rut. But more recently, I’m coming to learn that it’s okay! Life needs routine, mundane moments to enjoy the exciting, satisfying moments! 

Paul often thought of life with goals as well. In Philippians 3:14 he states, “I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” I partially want to believe that he needed to motivate himself as a goal-oriented person. Paul certainly had life much harder than I do, too. Paul compared life to a race. Ask my basketball coach– I hated running just to run. It just blew my mind when people would say things like, “I need to go run. I love it.” Why do you torture yourself? When I run, I have to push myself every single second. People say sweat is the body crying– that is true when running in my case, and I may be crying along with it. But when I have a goal– a girl breaking away for a lay-up– I can push myself to run faster than I ever needed to. Paul reminds me that I do have a goal, even when it’s not earthly, for Christ when running the race of life. There will be times in the middle of the race when I can’t see where I came from or where I’m going that I will have to remember that goal and just enjoy where I am, taking one step at a time.

Transition is hard, but I also think no transition is difficult. Both are vital, beautiful pieces in our lives to which Christ has called us. Enjoy the ups, pray through the downs, and remember the goals through the steady times. As Paul said it best, “Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God” (Hebrews 12:1-2).

Leave a Reply

